HM Inspectorate of Prisons report

Kirklevington Grange inspection report 2020

Report for Kirklevington Grange Prison

Summary

6 HMP Kirklevington Grange Fact page Fact page Task of the establishment The prison is a category D open prison for adult men and young people over the age of 18. Certified normal accommodation and operational capacity 1 Prisoners held at the time of inspection: 266 In-use certified normal capacity: 283 Operational capacity: 283 Notable features from this inspection There had been no violent incidents and no self-harm incidents in the previous six months. There was no segregation unit. Nearly a quarter of the population were being supported by the drug and alcohol recovery psychosocial team. Two-thirds of prisoners accessed release on temporary licence (ROTL), and there had been only six failures out of the 18,068 ROTLs in the previous six months. All prisoners were released into accommodation and with active bank accounts, and more than half left with a job or education place to go to.

Inspection ratings

SafetyNot stated in this report
RespectNot stated in this report
Purposeful activityNot stated in this report
Preparation for releaseNot stated in this report