HM Inspectorate of Prisons report

Dartmoor scrutiny visit 2020

Report for Dartmoor Prison

Summary

Despite the planned closure, Dartmoor continues to hold more than 600 prisoners in accommodation and facilities that need significant investment to make them fit for purpose. Staff have been working under notice of closure for seven years with a predictable impact on morale. The pandemic has made a difficult situation worse. Managers had worked well to implement national guidance, which was positive, and the prison remained reasonably safe and respectful. However, there were significant shortfalls that needed addressing including the poor infrastructure, limited regime and the lack of equality and diversity provision. Peter Clarke CVO OBE QPM HM Chief Inspector of Prisons October 2020 8 Report on a scrutiny visit to HMP Dartmoor Fact page Fact page Task of the establishment Category C training prison Certified normal accommodation and operational capacity (see Glossary of terms) Prisoners held at the time of this visit: 615 Baseline certified normal capacity: 642 In-use certified normal capacity: 642 Operational capacity: 640 Prison status (public or private) and key providers Public Physical health provider: Care UK Mental health provider: Devon Partnership NHS Foundation Trust Substance use treatment provider: Exeter Drugs Project Prison education framework provider: Weston College Community rehabilitation company (CRC): Catch 22 Escort contractor: Serco Prison group/Department Devon and North Dorset Brief history HMP Dartmoor is located in Princetown on Dartmoor in the county of Devon, it is owned by the Duchy of Cornwall and received Grade II heritage listing in 1987.

Inspection ratings

SafetyNot stated in this report
RespectNot stated in this report
Purposeful activityNot stated in this report
Preparation for releaseNot stated in this report